NOVEMBER- Oasis

NOVEMBER –Oasis

Initial House Keeping:
COME INSIDE EP available at http://harrietrichards.bandcamp.com/ (Digital Downloads) or for those of you who like to peruse the booklet etc email harrietrichards@hotmail.co.nz to organise physical copies.
Next month I am away overseas again. I leave for the UK on December 18. This means I have a couple of options for song of the month.
1: Post it on Sept 17
2: Film it before I go and just have it ready to upload at the end of the month.
3: As a last resort through not having actually written a song before I leave, somehow write, film and upload a song from my sister’s house in England where I won’t actually be taking a guitar.
I think I will aim for option 1.

Story from the Month:
Last weekend was my first free one since August. I was getting pretty close to maximum capacity. Due to my busy schedule there was a stretch of about 6 weeks I hadn’t been to church. Before that it was twice and then another ridiculous number of weeks. This month, that first weekend back, it was like letting out a deep breath I didn’t even realise I had been holding in.

Phew.

While I reflected back on the past few months I thought about how I even managed to keep functioning. I should have been curled up in the corner rocking back and forth with the stress of it all.

The LORD is my shepherd, I lack nothing.
He makes me lie down in green pastures,
He leads me beside quiet waters,
He refreshes my soul.

He is my Oasis

Oasis

When I’m worn and I’m tired
Thirsty but the land is dry
And I hold it together but I’m on the edge of tears
And the road it goes for miles
Not another single person in sight
And it’s messing with my head it’s playing on my fears.

Well you’re my oasis
When I can’t face the journey on
In between places
And my heart it longs for home
When I need refreshed and I need restored
You’re the oasis on my road

When I start to lose my pace
Each and every muscle aches
And I’m dragging my feet but it’s like they’re made of lead
And my bones, they’re crying out
Com on please won’t you just lie down
You’ve travelling for miles now it’s time to get your rest

Well you’re my oasis
When I can’t face the journey on
In between places
And my heart it longs for home
When I need refreshed and I need restored
You’re the oasis on my road

You’re my reviver
I’m a survivor
Give me some time and I will survive this
You’re my reviver
I’m a survivor
Give me some time and
I will get through this

Cos you’re my oasis
When I can’t face the journey on
In between places
And my heart it longs for home
When I need refreshed and I need restored
You’re the oasis on my road

©Harriet Richards 2013

Leave a comment